Take vacation time to study for step3/level 3?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Giovanotto

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
What's the general consensus here, Yes or no?
Need to submit my vacation weeks by next week and was wondering whether or not to ask for vacation time off to study for this thing. Will be doing a prelim year. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
Need to submit my vacation weeks by next week and was wondering whether or not to ask for vacation time off to study for this thing. Will be doing a prelim year. Thanks!
Oh good lord no. I mean, I guess you could take a weekend off to study. But a whole week is a waste of limited vacation time.

I’ve said this before, I studied using UWorld QBank in my laptop at a bar a few nights a week for a few weeks before the test. I spent a few hours the day before going over the sample cases. All told I probably spent 20 hours studying. Score was 20+ points over 2CK.

Reactions: 5 users
Oh good lord no. I mean, I guess you could take a weekend off to study. But a whole week is a waste of limited vacation time.

I’ve said this before, I studied using UWorld QBank in my laptop at a bar a few nights a week for a few weeks before the test. I spent a few hours the day before going over the sample cases. All told I probably spent 20 hours studying. Score was 20+ points over 2CK.
Maybe you are very bright or I am very stupid or both - but I don’t think that’s most peoples experience - the test is not easy. Were you a whiz in terms of stats/bio stats etc? There was a lot of random stuff there - not sure how anyone could just know it off the top of their head. What about pedal/ob? You just know that stuff?