Switching Residency

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.
D

deleted595450

I am an IMG. I have green card. I graduated in 2011. I started pathology residency last year. Unfortunately, I did not perform very well during residency and program director told me to resign otherwise my contract would be non renewed. I have resigned now but my resignation will take effect at the end of this academic year so I will be able to complete one year of pathology residency and get GME credit of one year. Obviously, I want to switch my residency now. I am thinking about some less competitive specialty like family medicine. I am going into SOAP this year but I did not apply formally to any programs and so I have zero interviews. What are my chances of getting into family medicine now? If I am not successful in SOAP will there be a reasonable chance to get into Family Medicine residency next year if I formally apply in September 2014? Or is it just that it is the end of the world for me and I should think about doing something else other than medicine?

My Board Scores are as follows:
1. Step 1 251
2. Step 2 CK 244
3. Step 2 CS Passed on 2nd attempt
4. Step 3 218

Members don't see this ad.

Firstly, Make sure your residency coordinator gives you a recommendation letter. One that states your struggles, but also your strong points. Sometimes one speciality or program is just not a good fit -- I have personal experience with that. However, both the program and you have to be on the SAME page about your dismissal. And you have to swing it in your favor -- this is probably the most difficult thing to do.