Switching phd programs

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted968413

Hi all. I'm in my third year in a scientist-practitioner clinical program. I am burnt out on research and want to focus on clinical work. The way the program is structured I am likely looking at 5 more years to complete the degree. With research obligations ramping up I'm desperately wanting a change. Between the burnout and some health issues I've had some performance problems over the last 6 months as well.

I have my M.S in psychology since I completed my master's thesis and around 200 clinical hours. I looked at lmhc programs however the one's I've contacted will only let me transfer a few credits and no clinical hours. I dislike the idea of leaving a phd program with a full tuition waiver/stipend for a 2 year master's which will require student loans.

I think a better option could be a psyd and counseling psychology program. The bulk of my 55 credit hours and MS will likely transfer which is a huge plus. I would likely just have a dissertation and possible comps/quals, which I'm confident I could complete. As an applicant I would have my M.S, clinical experience, 95%tile gre scores, 3 papers, 3 years at a competitive r1 program. Two of my letters of rec will be mixed as the burnout has impacted my research and clinical performance but the third from my post-bac job was stellar. The performance issues could likely be framed as health related (I have a document neurological condition which flared up) but it would likely raise a red flag. As such, I would probably aim for less competitive programs which I think would be a better fit anyway. I'm curious if anyone can speak to making that switch and how my application might be received. I have met one other person who switched phd programs (social psych to clinical) so I know it's possible.

Thanks for your input.

Members don't see this ad.