Switching out before I'm locked in

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

nextinline

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey,

So heres my situation. Im currently a PGY-1 Categorical Gen Surg resident at a fairly top tier respectable program. I am also currently on a F1-OPT Visa as I am not american but i am a US Grad and the GME at my program is making me apply for the J-1 before the start of PGY-2.

I have also sinced matching heard of a fair amount of internal politics going on at the highest levels of my program, which I am not sure I want to be a part of or be associated with in any way. The residents I work with however are great and I have no problem with them

If I did not have to be locked down on the J-1, I would probably be happy staying at my program. But in view of the impending J-1 lockdown, and internal politicking that is occuring and the fact that I am still in a fairly safe zone with my OPT, will it be wise to look for a different but similar program that does sponsor the H1B? And me being me, I know that I would only be happy with the move if it was to another top tier program.

I have good grades, excellent LOR's, AOA, etc.

I know it wont be easy, but will be it wise / worth it / a stupid thing to do?

Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

Hey,

So heres my situation. Im currently a PGY-1 Categorical Gen Surg resident at a fairly top tier respectable program. I am also currently on a F1-OPT Visa as I am not american but i am a US Grad and the GME at my program is making me apply for the J-1 before the start of PGY-2.

I have also sinced matching heard of a fair amount of internal politics going on at the highest levels of my program, which I am not sure I want to be a part of or be associated with in any way. The residents I work with however are great and I have no problem with them