Surgeon Lifestyle Near the End of Career

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Dunkthetall

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Incoming M1,

My school is a research powerhouse which pushes/encourages us to do research ASAP. I know career interests usually change, but as I’m looking at different labs/specialties, I’m drawn to vascular surgery (though stank feet give me some
pause haha), endovascular neurosurgery, and interventional cardiology.

I’ve been exploring each path, and it got me wondering; what do surgeons do near the end of their careers? I’m much more drawn to surgery, but I’m an older student and will be in my late 30s or early 40s by the time I’m done with residency and fellowship, so I think a lot about what the end of my career might look like. Surviving surgical residency is one thing, but I don’t know if I’d be up for 4am emergent cases as a 65+ year old.

Based on my experience in healthcare, going through IM residency seems like a bit of slog, but I think I’d enjoy cardiology fellowship, especially the interventional part. Plus, I’d have the option of doing slowing down to do outpatient general cardiology when I’m older. I’m kind of a workaholic, and want the option to work 35-40 hours when I’m in my 60s, and/or do quicker cases, but I don’t know how feasible that is as a vascular or neurosurgeon.

But…again I think I’m much more drawn to surgery and the possibility of going open. So tldr; does anyone know how/if vascular and neurosurgeons slow down when they’re older?

Members don't see this ad.

Surgeons slow down in different ways, some switch into admin roles, some start by assigning themselves mid-week OR days or more favourable call days, others operate less, do more clinic, refer away complex cases to junior colleagues, assist in ORs instead of operating. etc.

Reactions: 1 users