Supplies

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

thefootfixer

Reaction score
kinda a strange thing but having a hard time finding those instrument soaking trays that are used in the office…anyone have a good source /link?

Members don't see this ad.

These things always sketched me out when I was a student.
There is no way its actually clean. I wouldnt let someone come after me with a resused #15 blade coming out of one of these trays (Yes... Ive seen it done).

Reactions: 4 users
Members don't see this ad :)
Do the VAs still have disposable single-use nail nippers from Pakistan?

Reactions: 1 user
Do the VAs still have disposable single-use nail nippers from Pakistan?
Damn, that's so wasteful. The staggering amount of single use crap that gets disposed in the medical field is mind boggling.

Reactions: 2 users
Damn, that's so wasteful. The staggering amount of single use crap that gets disposed in the medical field is mind boggling.
Not to mention they really suck to use.

These things always sketched me out when I was a student.
There is no way its actually clean. I wouldnt let someone come after me with a resused #15 blade coming out of one of these trays (Yes... Ive seen it done).
Same. We autoclave all of our instruments after each use. Yucky.

Reactions: 2 users
Same. We autoclave all of our instruments after each use. Yucky.
Yep, it doesn't take too much time. We do a hybrid. I'm not against the germicide tray, but staff training is key... some stuff is sterile-ish procedure (lesion excis, ingrown, wound care, suture remove, etc), some is not (nail care, etc). Even the nail nips or blade handles or bandage scissors or Dremel bits that very seldom contact any fluids chould still be in the autoclave every use, or at least whenever they do contact or may have contacted fluids... bare minimum autoclave em daily.