Suggestions on how to learn business while in medical school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

juliojones123

5+ Year Member
2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all, I was wondering if anyone has any particular resources that they suggest reading for any sort of business/financial planning? I'm in 3rd year rotations and did not want to end up like a lot of physicians and no absolutely nothing about business, I'd like to start now and be thorough. If anyone has any recommendations that would be greatly appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.

That's asking a pretty broad question so forgive my response for also being slightly broad.

If you want to learn about financial planning I would suggest looking into learning about personal finance first. You need to learn to create a budget then figure out what your goals on from there on. Maybe its paying off debt, buying a house, having kids, retiring early, or starting up a business. Define what you want to accomplish then start looking into that area of interest. You wont run a successful business if you cant even treat your home finances like a business and balance a budget.

While in medical school your primary business should be succeeding at medicine so that you can take advantage of the potential income a medical degree can generate. The second goal should be to minimize debt while in school and learn to avoid lifestyle inflation. These two will give you by far the highest return on investment compared to any stock or fund you could potentially buy now.

Once you've done all of that, then in your free time follow some stocks, read blogs geared towards physicians and personal finance, and you'll be way ahead of many of your peers.

Reactions: 1 users
That's asking a pretty broad question so forgive my response for also being slightly broad.