Suggestions for 3rd year away rotation? Looking for a good LOR at the end.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ManBroDude

Half man, half bearpig
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi there, fine folks! I was hoping to spend one of my two electives at the end of 3rd year at a respectable pathology program where I can get a great LOR for interview season. I'm a 3rd year DO student in Nevada and I'd like to stay somewhere in the West. Step 1 low 230s.

Do you have any suggestions for places that you know accept 3rd year students? I'm afraid that if I go somewhere too competitive, the PD won't spend enough time with me to write a solid letter. If I go to smaller program, the PD could write a great one, but s/he may not be well-known nationally.

What should I do? (Thanks in advance for any replies!)

Members don't see this ad.

Hi there, fine folks! I was hoping to spend one of my two electives at the end of 3rd year at a respectable pathology program where I can get a great LOR for interview season. I'm a 3rd year DO student in Nevada and I'd like to stay somewhere in the West. Step 1 low 230s.

Do you have any suggestions for places that you know accept 3rd year students? I'm afraid that if I go somewhere too competitive, the PD won't spend enough time with me to write a solid letter. If I go to smaller program, the PD could write a great one, but s/he may not be well-known nationally.

What should I do? (Thanks in advance for any replies!)