Canadian Medical Graduate - Looking at How Competitive I am for Top Pathology Programs for Research

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Reaction score
I am a Canadian MD/PhD student MSI3 who is interested in applying to academic pathology programs with a specific research focus. Meaning that I am looking for a pathology program with an excellent name-brand recognition in research with a strong pathology clinical training program.

Background wise, I finished my non-pathology PhD in 3 years, with a first author publication that are in the mid-low impact factor range (4-5), one top first author cancer publication (11-13) and one co-first top chemistry publication (10-11). Also I have a few co-authored publications that range in the mid-low impact factor range. I have four first author papers I am writing at the moment to round out my PhD work, two of which will go to a top therapeutics journal. I also initiated a project for COVID which the first paper (co-author) will go to a Nature sub-journal (i.e. Nature XX) and plan to send the second paper as a co-first author to the same journal.

In terms of my other accomplishments, I have a series of drugs that I developed in my PhD that are slated to begin clinical trials next year at my hospital, with a company with financial backing that is sponsoring the clinical trials. On both patents, I am the highest percentage holder, even higher than my PhD supervisor.