Stereotactic radiation lung mass without biopsy

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

NJPAIN

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a pain management physician who is active on another forum. While I know that SDN Is not a place for medical advice I hope you will answer a question in general terms. 91 year old former smoker with multiple medical problems including COPD on chronic oxygen therapy and low dose steroids. However she is cognitively 100% intact. Incidentally found on chest CT is left upper lobe mass approx 3 cm in size. Not present on CT one year prior. In younger healthier patient she would be candidate for surgical resection. Not in location for biopsy by bronchoscopy. Radiology opines that CT guided biopsy will almost certainly drop the lung. Oncology suggests doing nothing. When asked about stereotactic radiation without biopsy oncologist states " that's malpractice, no one will do that". She goes on to state that treating with radiation will only cause problems and do nothing else. Is this accurate? Will no one treat without tissue under these circumstances? What treatment associated morbidly is associated with stereotactic radiation of the lung?

Thanks

Sent from my iPhone using SDN mobile app

Members don't see this ad.