Step 2 CS Woes and Reassurance

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

soccer1693

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all. Having been in the position above, I wanted to write a post about my CS experience, the "tricks" and the outcomes. So, I took the test in June in Atlanta. I read through First Aid the week before the exam, but was on a rotation (EM) and couldn't do much more than that. I had been on some type of clinical rotation for two months, and felt like it was reasonable to take the exam. I was super (SUPER) nervous. I get horribly anxious about all the step exams and usually end up pushing them up by a week or so due to anxiety.

I am a good student (AGM), did well on all of my OSCEs throughout third year, have good Step I and Step II scores. I consider myself to be pretty good with patients and families. Our school usually does at least one OSCE for each rotation, along with a longer one to "prep" us for Step 2 CS. I did decently well on that, but felt flustered for sure.

So, here is what I did and didn't do by patient (with the caveat that my examples are general examples, not real cases I had):