Spay/Neuter Learning Opportunities

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Honey_Bunny27

PennVet c/o 27
2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all! I'm a first-year vet student and was wondering if there are any programs or clinics in the NJ/NY area that are willing to teach first-year students how to perform spay/neuters? I know about the ASPCA program down south but they only take 4th year students and I want to stay close to home this summer. Please let me know if you've had any experiences!

Members don't see this ad.

Serious question because I am interested in this. Is it legal for veterinarians to teach us how to perform spay/neuters before we reach that level in our curriculum? Like are we able to practice these skills at a clinic now that we are students even though we are just first years?

I’d definitely be interested in this if we are allowed…

Serious question because I am interested in this. Is it legal for veterinarians to teach us how to perform spay/neuters before we reach that level in our curriculum? Like are we able to practice these skills at a clinic now that we are students even though we are just first years?

I’d definitely be interested in this if we are allowed…
It's state-dependent so you'd have to look into the veterinary practice act in your state or the state you're hoping to visit. Some places it's legal even if you're not a vet student at all, as long as it's under the direct supervision of a vet. Others you have to be at a certain stage of training.

Hi all! I'm a first-year vet student and was wondering if there are any programs or clinics in the NJ/NY area that are willing to teach first-year students how to perform spay/neuters? I know about the ASPCA program down south but they only take 4th year students and I want to stay close to home this summer. Please let me know if you've had any experiences!