Spanish family physician repeating training

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

avicena

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a spanish family physician (finished my residency -4 years-) one year ago. I am thinking about doing the ECFMG (USMLE) and repeat a residency to work and live in the US (Ihave some relatives there). I will probably do family medicine again.
Can anybody tell me how is the residency, the shifts, rotations?
Can be easier for me?
Should I chooose another one?
Do I need to do anything else before aply for the USMLE?
Can I choose easy rotatiosn? I do not need to learn, just getting my license to work. I know my skills...

Thank you

Jorge

Members don't see this ad.

¡Hola Jorge y bienvenidos!

(Lo siento por mi español...todo es autodidacto.)

If you want to do family medicine, or any other specialty, for the vast, vast majority of people, in the US you have to go through the training again.

However, there is one thing you post that is concerning: when you say "I do not need to learn, just getting my license to work." If you have that mindset, you will have MUCH difficulty. If you come into it with a positive attitude and humility, and showing you're a superstar, and not someone who thinks that all the work is beneath him, you will excel.

However, if you come into it as you know everything already and they have nothing to teach you, it will be very, very difficult.

¡Buena suerte!