Sorry, another "what are my chances?"

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

navrdd

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a fourth year student at a top 25 school. Currently applying to another residency but having serious doubts about my future in said specialty. I basically want to know if I have a shot at ENT for the next year's cycle.

Step 1 255, step 2 pending
Pass/fail preclinical - all passes
Honors in medicine and emergency medicine, HP in all other required clerkships
1 abstract at national conference in different specialty
Good extracurriculars with significant leadership positions

If I spend the time until next cycle doing research and hopefully getting some papers, do I have a good shot?

Members don't see this ad.

Also, does applying after graduation place me at a big disadvantage, is it looked upon the same as not matching on the first try?

Good school.

Good preclinical grades.

Average to below average clinical grades.

Excellent Step 1.

Average to below average research.

How many interviews do you have?

I'd say it's going to come down to the interview and the away rotations - if you did any.

If you don't make it, it will be extremely hard to do so after graduation.

PS: read the sticky.

Members don't see this ad :)
Thanks for the reply. I'm not applying to ENT this year but am seriously considering dropping out of the match for a different specialty this round. My plan would be to do research for about 4-5 mo, hopefully get some pubs and then apply for next year. My question would be, do you think I have a good chance next year with the extra research? I don't want to not match this year, take a research year, and then not match into ENT next year.

In all likelihood you will not ever match (for ENT) if you don't match when you are applying as a 4th year student. If you don't apply as a 4th year and then apply after graduation, it's still unlikely that you will match.