Slightly Lower Undergraduate GPA 3.26 pretty strong upward trend

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Missferg

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey Guys,

First of all let me say thanks to everyone willing to read and offer advice :) I'm a non-traditional student I'm married with one child I'm 31 and graduated with my first B.S. in 2004. I have always had an itch for medical school and in fact I was admitted to PA school last cycle but deferred enrollment then withdrew because I knew that it wasn't my ultimate goal and I didn't want to waste the tutition when I knew I would want to eventually return to med school.

Undergraduate GPA 3.26 B.S. Degree Health Science Kinesiology and Health Promotion some disappointing grades C is Gen Chem I, retake I got a B, also a C in Chem II (took these in 2002 and 2003) Mostly strong trend 2.0 fresh, 3.0 soph, 3.2 junior, 3.8 senior year.
Post-Bach GPA 2.86 (ouch I know) Certificate Clinical Laboratory Science, but lots of clinical chem, hematology, biology, etc.
Graduate GPA 3.98 M.S. Clinical Laboraotry Science 2012 Graduate course in Immunology, Molecular, Biology, and Hematology
Also I have taken a few more undergraduate courses such as child psych, pathophysiology, pharamacology, statistics, calculus and a few others, earned all A's
I have approx 100 hours shadowing (ER, Pathology, Family medicine)
1 publication
6 years clinical experience in laboratory
I haven't taken MCAT yet but I plan on taking a prep course soon.
I live in WAMMI region so I will be applying to UW probably the only school I will apply to do to geographic location. I know that DO is probably a closer fit, but there is not a DO school in my state.

Members don't see this ad.

Sorry, it's not gonna happen for you. You went downhill on the post-bacc and traditional masters don't carry much weight. Unless you pulled a 30+, I'd call DO school a stretch.