Slightly freaking out...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

HopefulDoc91

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I took the MCAT in June 2015 and got a 496 and still applied to schools anyway (I'm only interested in DO). I only had 1 interview, at PCOM, but was rejected after. I decided to take a year off and study again and retake the MCAT. I'm scheduled to take it this January 28th, and I've been following a study schedule for 6 months religiously. I just took my first Kaplan practice exam, and got a 497 (last year it was a 491). I am freaking out. I've been studying diligently for 6 months, and I thought I would have improved more. I keep seeing posts of people getting in the 515-520s and I just want to know HOW. I don't know anything else I can do...I'm scared the last 6 months were for nothing, and on test day I'm going to score in the low 500's (maybe). Can anyone offer some advice for the last month of studying I have left?? I don't have the time or the money really to retake the MCAT, so I need this to be the last time I take this exam.

Members don't see this ad.

Don't take Kaplan tests serious. People do much better or much worse than their Kaplan score, it is not representative and should only be used for stamina and pacing (and maybe content weakness, but if Kaplan FLs is like TPR FLs, the questions probably require vastly more in-depth content knowledge compared to AAMC).

People that score high will tend to post about it more because they are more excited vs. people are less likely to post if they are scoring low. 515 is 93rd percentile, that means roughly 7% of test takers get that score or higher.

There's also free diagnostic and FL from NextStep if you need more materials but don't have the funds.