Advice on (slight) change in study plan - received Boren Scholarship & taking August 24th

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

hommefatale

Reaction score
Hi all!

I'm a sophomore in college right now, and I am registered to take the MCAT on August 24th. I made my three month study plan for the summer, which looks pretty similar to how most study plans are
  • First month (May 6th - June 4th) content review
  • Second and third month (June 5th-August 24th) UWorld + AAMC material; BP exams transitioning to AAMC full lengths
However, I recently got notified that I got awarded the Boren scholarship that funds me to learn a language in another country for the fall semester. I am elated about this opportunity, but part of the program requires me to be in another university outside of hometown from late June to early August. At the university, I would be in a class from 8 AM to 1 PM, with a few culture activities on some days. My weekends would be completely free to do FLs! However, I know the MCAT/study time is not something I can compromise on. The class I would be taking would not be super intensive -- it's a language that I have a little bit of heritage familiarity with, but I would still love to be involved in the program instead of putting it to the back burner.

I thought about pushing my MCAT past August to January, after the program finishes (the program also runs from late August to mid December in the other country), but I feel like a lot of organic chemistry/biochemistry is still fresh in my mind, and I would much rather get it over with. I'm also hoping to apply this coming May, but I do not mind taking gap year(s) at all!