Should I worry?

happytimeharry

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Background: my fiancé just started her first year of medical school. We've been together 4 years now.

We have a great relationship, I'm a linux administrator working 40 hours + a week while shes in school.

However, last night I started to get jealous when I found out she was studying with man she met in her class.

I don't inherently have a problem with her studying with another man, thats not really the issue. It's more the late/long hours that this happened as well as her expressing great interest in doing this often.

I know this isn't healthy for me or the relationship to get jealous right now. I also understand that she will have many more late night study sessions, I just can't help but feel like if she doesn't physically cheat, she's still putting herself in a position where should could emotionally cheat without meaning to.

We talked about it last night some, she agreed that she wouldn't want me meeting with single women for hours on end late at night and understood where I was coming from.

Now before everyone starts jumping on me and saying "i need to examine our relationship blah blah", thats precisely what I'm doing now.

I need some insight from people who have gone through a similar situation. Am I out of line for being even the slightest bit jealous?

I could really use some advice right about now. Thanks!

Edit/Update: I've been thinking about this more. Is this something I should just let her do? Just go along with everything and see how the cards end up playing out? I feel like part of me could definitely do this, I trust her. I guess I just have a lot of baggage from previous relationships.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited: