Should I pursue dentistry or cognitive neuroscience?

Anonymous321

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I am a senior high-school student, and I need to apply for university courses in 2 or so weeks (the system is a bit different where I live, so ignore that particular factor). However, I am very torn between two careers - dentistry (specifically, orthodontics), and neuroscience (cognitive).

I am very sure that I am suitable for both fields, but there's a couple of problems here and there. Basically, neuroscience is the field I'm most interested in. I do study and read about the brain and nervous system in my spare time because as I said, I really do enjoy it. But the thing is that it lacks job security. I really do want to pursue research, and I really do not want to end up becoming a professor at a university or something - basically, I don't want to end up doing something that is not related to research. Plus, even if you do land a job, you'll have to depend on grants.

With dentistry, I'm not as interested in the field, but I can still see myself enjoying this career to a certain degree (since I find it very rewarding to increase someone's self-esteem). It's also secure, but if I do end up pursing it, then it'll be because of security, really. Also, if I do land a job as a dentist, then I'll most likely be working under someone or in a hospital (I.e. I am not willing to have my own clinic and such). Though I might enjoy it, it's definitely nowhere as much as I enjoy the neuroscience field.

If anyone can provide me with some sort of advice, then I'd appreciate it quite a lot.

(Quick note, my parents will be paying for my university fees (yes, I do know that I am very lucky), so that factor won't be a very big issue).

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited: