Should I do the HPSP program mainly due to financial reasons?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Maru_99

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

This is my first time posting here. I am 21 years old and currently thinking of joining the Army Reserves after delaying my applying cycle for 2020 because of personal issues. I decided I wanted to try something worthwhile so one day an Army recruiter contacted me and I decided to go along with the plan. I am set out to ship in October, but right now I am starting to have second thoughts because, why am I even doing this? Personally, I know myself well, I have always been a pushover, I get persuaded easily into things and I admittedly got blinded by all the benefits that my recruiter told me and joined with little hesitation. I am ignorant and naive and make bad decisions. I don't trust myself so I hope to hear from you guys who hopefully know more than I do.
I started doing a lot of research recently and the more I dig, the more I became reluctant to join. My physical ability sucks, I cannot run one mile without stopping, or do more than 5 pushups nonstop, and I tried shooting once and it terrified me. I realized that my aim for joining the Reserve has been the financial benefit all along, not about serving the countries (yeah it sounds nice and tempting, I love to be someone like that, but it isn't my number one focus in life, I can do that just fine by being a civilian doctor).

My real goal is to become a doctor, that's it. So why did I even join the Reserve when the job they gave me ain't even medical-related (I got CBRN)? Thus, I turned to HPSP, which would help me pay for medical school as well as giving me the ability to work as a military doctor if I want to. If not, I can just complete my military obligation and return to my normal life, while having all these benefits offered to me, debt-free. It sounds almost too good to be true.