Should I do it?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

lowcountrylynn

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
A simple question with a complex answer. I am currently a licensed attorney and I am wondering if I should go to medical school. I am 30. I graduated from college with a double major in economics and business. I immediately attended law school and graduated.
Needless to say, the legal career is not what I envisioned. I am a quite adept attorney. I have successly handled many types of litigation, which has lead to me working with numerous medical experts. During working on these cases I developed a real interest and passion in two types of medicine: dermatology and allergy/immunology. I self taught myself a considerable amount in working with these experts. As time has went by I have become disillusioned with the attitude of the legal profession, the ethical issues, and monetary competitiveness and I am now changing careers.
I am wondering what those of you who are in school or practicing think about whether I should take the plunge. Due to my undergraduate education, I will have to take supplemental premedical courses prior to application. I feel confident that I could give the coursework my all and be successful.
Is it worth it? Are you happy? Do you feel like you help people? Would you do it again if you were in my shoes? All advice is welcome. Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.