Should I apply early decision, or finish my pre-reqs?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Joleybear

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
So far I have a not so amazing GPA but that's stuck that way because I had a bad experience after a divorce where I had no sitter and ended up failing an entire semester.... it brought my transfer gpa so a 2.99 (at one point my GPA was close to a 4.0 but that didnt last with the abusive marriage I was in). Anyway my total is only around a 3.0 give or take change. It is higher at my current college (UIC) where I am in my third semester and will be doing my Fall semester. I will be taking a summer class at community college (Organic Chemistry I) and attempting to work part-time as a pharmacy tech for experience at the same time... I am a mom of 3 and my younger two are non-verbal with autism so I have no experience beforehand and it's difficult for me to fit it in everything. My older two also go to separate schools and we have no car... so anyway the point is we are roughing it and I am trying to figure this out now so I don't ruin my chances altogether. I am banking on Creighton's Distance Pathway because obviously with everything at home it is one of two options - the second being LECOM Florida, but we live a LOT closer to Creighton so it is ideal. I do have a C right now in Chemistry Lecture which sucks but the class average is so bad that really low scores are passing and otherwise, I have all As in Biology lecture, lab, chemistry lab and what I took before (some classes ended earlier/half semester). I may be able to bring it up to a B, hopefully. The teacher is quite brutal.

Do you think I should cram to take the PCAT in July and apply early even if my Organic Chemistry courses/prerequisites won't be done until the end of the year?

OR

should I wait until I am done and possibly have a few more As on my recent record and apply at the beginning of 2019?