Setting up job shadows

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Audity

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I'm new to the forums and was hoping I could obtain some advice as I pursue audiology. I'm a bit behind, as I just recently committed myself to this career field. I was a biology/pre-med major in undergrad and then taught science to students with dyslexia and/or autism for 5 years.

Once I made my decision, the application deadline for Fall 2011 admission to most AuD programs had passed (aside from one or two programs). I quickly gathered my application materials and applied to one of those before that deadline (Bloomsburg University).

Whether I get in and accept this year with BU or if I wait until next year for a different program, I will want to set up some job shadows. Does anybody have advice on the best way to do this? For example, is it better to walk in, call, or send an email to inquire about opportunities? Any other tidbits of advice for an aspiring AuD student? I could use all the help/support you are willing to give.

Thanks in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

Hi Audity,

Welcome to the forum! It's great that you're trying to see what audiology is like in action.

Here's what I did to contact offices/schools for obersvations:
  • Go through your state's Audiology Association. In California we have what's "California Academy of Audiology". And if your state has anything like that, check their website for a list of audiology offices.
  • Look for the ones that are closer to you and call them. I called and made an appointment to see the audiologist. Most audiologists are too busy to take your call right there.
  • Explain why you're doing this and hopefully they'll offer a day or two to observe.
Hope that helps!

Thanks SoCalAud!