Selective Service Registration and Denial in residency

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

orcawhale

Reaction score
Hi I'm an older med student age 29 and I just learned that some if not many residencies have a selective service requirement. from a previous post:

"For anyone as ignorant as I was, this is the registry that lives on from the days of the military draft, which all men ages 18 are required to register for in case the president decides to reinstate the draft. There seems to be varying awareness about this, some of my friends remember registering and even receiving a card proving it, some of them have no idea what it is, but somehow got registered at some point. The bottom line about the registry is that you can only register from ages 18-26 and if you do not register, you are ineligible for federal grants, federal loans, and FEDERAL EMPLOYMENT INCLUDING VAs."

I'm having trouble finding information on which residencies I would be barred from applying to... does anyone have information on how to circumvent this situation as well as how many residencies at all may have this requirement...? thank you so much...

Members don't see this ad.

The usual problem here is the VA, as mentioned. However, this happened to a resident of ours in the past, and we were able to get a waiver. It was a struggle though, and you shouldn't 100% count on that. When researching programs, assess whether they are afilliated / rotate at a VA.

Reactions: 1 user
Hi I'm an older med student age 29 and I just learned that some if not many residencies have a selective service requirement. from a previous post: