Security Clearance Interview?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

cavaor

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I just got a call that I would have an interview regarding my security clearance. I was unaware these are done? What should I expect? The guy wasn't very nice and not quick to work with my clerkship schedule. I have to meet him over my lunch time and he said it will hopefully take no more than an hour but I dont have an hour to devote.

Members don't see this ad.

cavaor said:
I just got a call that I would have an interview regarding my security clearance. I was unaware these are done? What should I expect? The guy wasn't very nice and not quick to work with my clerkship schedule. I have to meet him over my lunch time and he said it will hopefully take no more than an hour but I dont have an hour to devote.

I was an active duty officer for 13 years before going to med school and I never got interviewed for my security clearance. I had to answer a few questions about Tailhook however :oops:

I would maybe think back or go over your application to see if there's anything that may be questionable. Travel outside the US, foriegn born parents, large sums of money in numbered accounts, that kind of thing. Money troubles like bankruptcy or debt can raise a flag too. Ever been a member of a group that advocates the overthrow of the US government?

Spang

I wouldn't stress this - be very honest, that's what they're looking for. Subjects such as drugs and drinking will come up in this interview, BE HONEST or it will come back to bite you. Depending on how far you're going to be cleared you may be required to take a Polygraph. The form you filled out (SF86) will be the basis for many questions, make sure that it was correct, if there is info missing bring it along to the interview because questions may come up as to why it was left out.

Best of luck.

Members don't see this ad :)