rrreal: premed mom

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Jim Henderson

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Your site has been very helpful to me, I thank you for making it available!
I sent a question to your board a couple months ago, got the info I was looking for and embarked upon my journey. I'm a 37 year old single mom with a full time job. I'm putting together a plan to leave my job in
January, to pursue premed credentials & a 4 year degree, to enter med school (probably in
2003). I have an Associate's degree in business, and have taken several
medical-related courses as I work for a Disability Insurer. I've always
gravitated toward anything medical. My overall GPA is 3.75, I test well,
have a good memory and am self-disciplined.
I need to use this next 4 months to get a jump on the coursework I'll be
taking. I printed off some material from the Web about Physics, Chemistry, Biology, Algebra, Trig and Calculus. Everything seemed impossibly technical!

I need something more elementary to help me get a step ahead of the material
in which I must excel later. I've checked with the UNLV bookstore, and a couple other bookstores here in town, and also with your on-line book services, and Amazon.com, Borders, etc. Can you recommend a good text
to prepare me for what's ahead? I need to feel better about the academic challenge than I do!

Thank you, Dr. Henderson!

Members don't see this ad.

Thanks for writing. Boy, those subjects ARE really technical.