Route to Neuropathology

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

NeuroKid5

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
My name is James, and I am a first year medical student. I am very intrigued by pathology and definitely want a career in the field. Specifically, I would like to go into neuropathology. I have been looking at residencies and fellowship programs, and I noticed that most programs for neuropathology training are AP/NP joint programs, with two years for each. I want to do a 4-year AP/CP program and then do the NP fellowship. I know that this is an unconventional route to take but I want to know if is possible to do AP/CP then NP. Also, would it be a good idea to do AP/NP and then CP?

Members don't see this ad.

My name is James, and I am a first year medical student. I am very intrigued by pathology and definitely want a career in the field. Specifically, I would like to go into neuropathology. I have been looking at residencies and fellowship programs, and I noticed that most programs for neuropathology training are AP/NP joint programs, with two years for each. I want to do a 4-year AP/CP program and then do the NP fellowship. I know that this is an unconventional route to take but I want to know if is possible to do AP/CP then NP. Also, would it be a good idea to do AP/NP and then CP?
Most neuropaths I have known have done AP/CP then a 2 year NP fellowship.

James,