ROTC Educational Delay

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

goldbuff

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Although there are a couple of threads similar to my question there aren't any that directly address my issue so I'm going to go ahead and ask this.

I am a current freshman pre-dental student and am considering joining ROTC. My question is whether I can follow the plan listed below:

1. Join ROTC
2. Request Educational Delay
3. Go to dental school on my dime.
4. Request civilian residency
5. Once schooling is completed join a combat branch of the army

I think where I differ from other dental students is that I DO NOT want to practice in the army, however I do want to join active duty under a combat related branch. I've spoken with my pre-professional adviser and she said that waiting 4-8 years in between undergrad and dental school would not be advisable.
Basically I want to join a combat branch of the military but also want to participate in ROTC in college as I think it will provide a structure to my college experience that would keep me on track and in line with my goals. I have been told by army personnel that it is not possible to go to dental school on educational delay because it is designed for two year graduate studies. Contradicting that statement are numerous people on this forum and others. If anyone has experienced this specific path or knows how this path would work please help.
Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

Also one other path that I would like to do is join rotc go directly to active duty then go back to dental school. Does anyone have experience with this or no.

Although there are a couple of threads similar to my question there aren't any that directly address my issue so I'm going to go ahead and ask this.

I am a current freshman pre-dental student and am considering joining ROTC. My question is whether I can follow the plan listed below:

1. Join ROTC