RN to MD transition process [2 year old RN transition to Medschool], please help

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Lokesh170816

Reaction score
Thanks all,
I am a 25-year-old Registered Nurse who completed nursing school two years ago. Although I have no premedical background beyond the fundamentals of biology and anatomy for nursing school, I am now interested in pursuing more education (med school). I am applying for Canadian Schools and there is a few that have a criterion to accepts students without Premed prerequisites. I'm at a loss on how to begin and am stuck.

Since the university I'm applying to has a September 2024 deadline, I intend to schedule my exam for June 2024.

I have arranged the books from Kaplan, the Anki (milesdown and ortho528), the Khan Academy, the AAMC FL and Sections, and Reddit resources.

I completed the intro chem, intro biochem, and intro bio courses in high school (in a different context in India), but it has been six or seven years since then.

Please share your knowledge to help me in formulating a strategy to achieve my desired score of 518–523.

Members don't see this ad.

Your strategy should include taking college level, medical school prerequisite science and psychology/sociology courses BEFORE you take the MCAT.

The most likely outcome of this gambit is that come summer 2024 you will have no prerequisites and a bad MCAT score. At that point you can look forward to a long and fruitful career as a RN.

If you're going to do this, do it right. Complete the appropriate prerequisite courses, then take the MCAT (an exam based on material you learn in the prerequisite courses). In the meantime you will also need to think about your ECs, but that's for another thread.

Members don't see this ad :)