RN and firefighter

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dfullen

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently a nursing student. I've always wanted to be a nurse & I've always wanted to be a firefighter and even took fire science courses last semester, untill I found out i was accepted into nursing school. Ive heard that you can join the fire department while still working as a nurse. I have been working out fo r the CPAT, I'll have my certificate in nursing in 18 months. Im wondering if I should apply to a deptarment when they have an opening, after i get my certificate, since my LPN to RN degree will be online, other than my clinicals. (since they only hire about once a year). Im not sure if the 24 hours on and 48 off will be to hard to finish my online nursing degree. I just wanted to see if anyone knows anything about this or can direct me to where I can find out some more information. thank you.

p.s. also I like to know about flight nursing; how you get into that specialty, what are the requirments, what kind of schedule do you have, ect.

Members don't see this ad.

You will have to obtain your EMT/Medic cert to work for a fire department. You will also have to go to the fire academy. They will not hire you with just you RN cert. Fire departments are fulltime most work 24 hours on 48 hours off, you could still work as a nurse part time or pool, I know one or two guys who do this. Flight nursing is way off in your future, you must have a min of 5 years critical experience before they will look at your app, and then you must know somebody. Flight jobs are among the most hard to get. In FL the fire academy is a 3 month fulltime program...