"review" articles vs. actual research

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Anastacia23

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
hey guys

i am a 3rd yr med student who developed a late interest in radonc...i don't have the time, resources or frankly the inclination to do research but i was wondering if writing a review article on a topic pertinent to radonc and subsequent publication would carry some, if any, weight...thanks for any thoughts...

anastacia

Members don't see this ad.

Anastacia23 said:
hey guys

i am a 3rd yr med student who developed a late interest in radonc...i don't have the time, resources or frankly the inclination to do research but i was wondering if writing a review article on a topic pertinent to radonc and subsequent publication would carry some, if any, weight...thanks for any thoughts...

anastacia

i think any research shows that you are dedicated to the field. no one expects you to run a phase III study at this point in your career. take my advice with a grain of salt though, as i haven't match myself yet (can this process BE any slower, where is march 17th?!?!?! :eek: ). I myself decided on rad-onc pretty late, so i was late to do any outside rotations, i just signed up a for a research rot at my home school, and did a couple of research projects with the chair of our rad-onc dept, both are retrospective studies. i wrote them up, not published yet or anything, but all the interviews i go to, they always ask me about them. also, in response to your other post re programs without research emphasis, you can PM me, i might have some insight..