Retake or not retake, that is the question

clutzie16

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I am kind of happy that i got the OAT over with today, but i cant say i am exactly thrilled with the scores.

Here they are

QR- 300
Bio- 320
GC-340
RC- 330
Orgo- 290 :thumbdown:
Phys- 270:eek: :scared:

TS 300
AA 310

I know that the physics and the organic chemistry scores are terrible. I have only taken organic chemistry I so far, and just finishing physics II now. I dont feel that these scores are going to be good enough for me to get into school. I have a lot of experience, and a decent GPA, but then again so does everyone else with better scores. I am just so mad that the physics brought my TS and AA down so much. I have scheduled to retake the OAT 90 days from today and was wondering if you guys think thats too late, it falls on Feb 28, meeting the deadline of my 3 top choice schools. Or do you think that will be way too late in the game? You guys have been very helpful thus far so i was wondering if you think i should call the schools individually and ask them what they feel i should do? and also if you retake the exam do they take the highest individual sections from each and count those or do they take each individual exam as its own?

thank you for your help again, and good luck to all that have and are going to be applying :luck:

p.s. if anyone has any specific questions about the OAT in the sections i actually did alright in PM me. :)

Members don't see this ad.

I would vote for a retake... Assuming you have already sent all your application materials, send the schools you applied to an email informing them you plan on retaking the OAT. This way, the schools may consider your application and not give your OAT scores too much weight. Your scores are not horrible. But most likely, not good enough (only in my honest opinion). Hopefully you do better.