Resident research at community hospital

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

geniusindisguise

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a PGY-1 resident at a community program with a weak university affiliation. I understand that the best way for me to increase my chances of matching at an academic hem/onc program down the road, other than making connections with hem/onc people at academic institutions, is to be productive in research. Without the strong backing of an academic program, quality research may be difficult to conduct and so, I've been looking to pursue research methods that can be done without a solid support network and can be finished in sufficient time as to be able to produce publications before the match, for example, meta-analyses, literature reviews, and case reports. Are there any other types of research that can be done in a situation where support may be lacking?

Members don't see this ad.

Those are probably the main ones - that and retrospective reviews if someone has the data laying around and hasn't found someone to analyze it. Though to be honest, you should see if there's anyone at your academic affiliate who would be interested in mentoring you. It is not that easy to just slap together a meta-analyses... ideally you would have some support/infrastructure to do a good job and have a collaborating biostatistician to oversee your work.

Reactions: 1 user
Even in a community hospital, there are oncologists, and those oncologists will know someone at the university affiliate. If not, investigate the oncology faculty at the academic center, introduce yourself, and try hard to get onto a project (note though that a lot of attendings don't take PGY-1s seriously because of the workload, although you're about to be a resident so they will likely be more receptive).