Residency vs. MBB

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

grenouille

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm an MD-MBA student in the "lucky" position of either pursuing residency or a job at McKinsey/Bain/BCG. While I love meeting diverse patients, learning their perspectives on the world, and helping them, I don't particularly enjoy clinical problem solving. I much prefer thinking about bigger picture issues with the healthcare system or population health. Additionally, I loathe documentation; I had no idea doctors spend 50+% of their time with the EHR fulfilling billing requirements when I signed up for medical school. Also, I speak several foreign languages, and I would love to live and work internationally, which medicine makes difficult.

Long term, I would like my primary job to be running a health-related business or doing healthcare investing, but I think it would be rewarding to practice one day every week or two to stay grounded in clinical practice and the diversity of patients' life experiences. MBB would be amazing business training. Residency would give me more legitimacy in the medical world and open doors in the house of medicine, but would maybe close (or at least delay) some in business/investing. I'm not sure residency is worth it because I feel like it just delays me from doing what I want to do. Moreover, I have a an extreme amount of debt, and I worry I will have no choice but to practice medicine for 5-10 years once I finish residency to pay off that debt, because business options initially won't be as lucrative. What would you recommend?

Members don't see this ad.