Residency in Europe

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Orestis

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello people,

Introduction:

I am a 4th year medical student in Europe. I was thinking about doing my residency in USA or a western european country. Lately, everyone is telling that the working hours in USA are more compared to Europe(80 vs 48 to be exact, even though not all countries apply the 48 hours/week rule in europe). So I am more favorable to European countries.

My question is the following:
I would like to combine neurology residency and research(cognitive neuroscience). So I am searching for a country with good quality of life, need of doctors, good salary and good research. Most of the people suggest Germany. What do you think?

Members don't see this ad.

That's such a subjective decision that I don't think anyone is going to be able to tell you 'yes do X' or 'no don't do Y'. What matters most to you? Residency in the US is both competitive to get into and pretty terrible for the duration of it. Attendings lead better lives, and are better able to control their own schedules, so it's not necessarily a given that you'd be working 80hrs/week once done with residency/fellowship. Research opportunities are, from what I understand, a bit better in the US (I have a lot of friends who turned down research positions/PhD programs in Europe to come to US schools because the "research is better") though Germany has excellent institutions. Europe is also home for you - I'm assuming you have a much better support network there compared to the US.