Research vs. Development

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

clockitnow

Do it! Do it! Do it now!
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
As an engineer, I have developed a lot of technologies. For example, I created an automatic bicycle shifting system. We are working to get it patented right now. Especially in engineering there is a fine line between research and development. In secondaries, could I consider the automatic bicycle shifting system a research project?

Members don't see this ad.

i see it more as a basic science research versus design based research. My research has been at least 50% design based, but considering all the biological/chemical/physical questions I had to pose and answer along the way, I'm definitely going to talk a lot about it as a solid research project.

clockitnow said:
As an engineer, I have developed a lot of technologies. For example, I created an automatic bicycle shifting system. We are working to get it patented right now. Especially in engineering there is a fine line between research and development. In secondaries, could I consider the automatic bicycle shifting system a research project?

Well, I guess you could, but how does it apply to medicine? That's really the main focus of the MD/PhD --research aspects of medicine and health. You need to emphasize how the automatic bicycle shifting system will benefit humanity in terms of medicinal and health applications, not just the sake of you doing previous engineering research.

Members don't see this ad :)