Research: basic v. clinical

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Commis

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all, new to this forum.

Quick background: I'm a med student going into 2nd year who has spent the summer doing basic microbio research in the ENT dept of my home institution looking at a certain gene/protein and its effects on tumor regulation. My research is part of the "honors in research" program at my institution, so I essentially oversee my own project to the finish, where over the span of 1-3 years, I will write a poster, paper, present the results at a student research day, etc.

I have 2 questions, both of which may be grossly oversimplified:

1) For those of you intimately familiar with the Oto residency selection game, is there an overall preference for basic vs. clinical research on an applicants CV? I would imagine that it depends on the institution and probably even the individual committee member looking at the app, but if there is any general, overall sense of bias, I'd like to know.

2) My PI (an ENT himself) has done previous research on our particular protein and its role in regulation of H&N squamous cell car and multiple myeloma in vitro and in vivo. He wants to expand the scope of his previous findings, so my project is basically repeating his experiment(s) in non-small cell lung cancer and breast cancer. Although my research will say "Dept. of Otolaryngology" on the cover page, I'm afraid that admissions committees might look at it and think, "well, what exactly does this have to do with ENT?? It's not even about HNSCC". Should I be concerned, or am I worrying myself needlessly?

Any feedback would be appreciated. I am highly motivated to learn as much as possible about ENT and the residency game.

Members don't see this ad.