REPAYING LOANS

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sue

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
When do we repay the loan .......after graduation and finding a job or immediately after each year while you are still studying ???????

Members don't see this ad.

You can defer your loan payments while you are in school and during your residency if you want.

No , I am a spouse of a resident.....I am attending university.......can I repay my loans after I finish university and find a job?

Members don't see this ad :)
•••quote:•••Originally posted by sue:
•No , I am a spouse of a resident.....I am attending university.......can I repay my loans after I finish university and find a job?•••••They give you a grace period after you graduate before you start repaying them. Ususally 6 months or so. You can defer though, for several reasons, such as economic hardship, illness, etc.

Sue, if their federal stafford/direct loans, you have a 6 month grace period AFTER you GRADUATE from school before you have to start paying them back. People going into residencies are able to defer because of hardship or other reasons.

So, no you do not have to pay back your loans while you're still working toward your degree, but after you graduate. If you graduate and decide to pursue an advanced degree, then you don't have to pay back your loans until after you finish that advanced degree. For private loans, you'll have to check on their conditions though, this info is only valid for the federal loans or stafford loans.

thanks for your nice replies
One more question :when I'll apply for the stafford loan for my university cost of attendance....I understand that I'm "as a US citizen" eligible for loans and because I am married I am considered "independent US citizen".....but do I need also someone to co-sign the laon with me????????