MD Relating to my classmates as a low-SES student

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

chayadoing

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've always been (unfortunately) always been the weird fish in the small pond whether in special ed / ESL in elementary school, in the youth shelter or on the ambulance, and I'm sure my being neurodivergent is not helping. I am enthusiastic about many topics (even anatomy, which I managed to survive) and now we've moved on to my favorite pet topics ... medical biochemistry, and I'm finding the level of learning is broader, but at a more superficial level compared to the PhD Biochemistry coursework (which had heavily clinical correlations) when I was an MS student holding toe to toe with PhD students and passing their exams.

I'm trying my best to make friends instead of unintentionally making adversaries but I'm finding I'm really clashing with my classmates over differences in background.