Reinvention: Is it possible at this point? (2.1 sGPA, 2.71uGPA, 3.89 graduate GPA)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

HopefulOlderDoc

Reaction score
Good evening everyone!

I am currently an Active Duty Army officer who is starting to look at his options post Army service. As with many people who serve, I know that I really like serving other people and would like to continue it in the medical realm.

I have a BS in Psychology and MA in Psychology. Due to my next job, I will be earning another MA in Psychology, but this one will be in Social Psychology. I know most folks would probably tell me that I should just stick with something in the field of Psychology, but I am not totally interested in pursuing a career in therapy or necessarily strictly psychology. Right now I would love to become a psychiatrist, understanding that I may not get that field. I am definitely okay with that.

My stats:
My uGPA is a 2.71
My sGPA is a 2.1
My graduate GPA is a 3.89

With my undergraduate and graduate programs, I am look at roughly 190 hours. My potential only saving grace is that I did not take more than the bare minimum science / math classes during my undergraduate time (4 x science and 4 x math), meaning that GPA might be easier to move. When I did the AACOMAS calculations, I would need to earn straight As in 12 classes to get a 3.0 for culmulative undergraduate GPA. I am willing to do it, but is it logically attainable / feasible to change the admission folks' minds with my subpar undergraduate performance.

As far as trends, it definitely got better after my sophomore year when I figured out how to study. Unfortunately, that is also the time when my school's required math and science classes ended. I had to do an engineering track, but the one I was placed in was computer science, so not necessarily the science medical schools are looking for.