Regret dental school? Switching to med??

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted721052

Hello everyone!

I'm a Canadian student who just started dental school last month. All my life i've been changing my mind over med and dental & when i choose dentistry, it was my #1 and i was pretty sure. However, now that i started, i'm feeling less and less sure. Yes, i love what we are learning but i also find the mouth so.. small? Like i wish i could learn about all the other systems because the human body is freaking amazing. I love my more general class like anatomy and i find myself wishing i learn more about the diseases i read in my textbook for example (Moore's fault here...)

The thing i realized, also, is that med school leave you 4 years (well.. technically.. 3) to figure out what exactly you wanna do. In dental school, specialty are not that different and, if i would want to specialize in oral maxillo facial surgery (which is where my passion in dentistry is really since years) i would need a miracle here in Canada as they barely accept any students.

However, i know that, in the long term, dentistry will allow me a better lifestyle. But would that lifestyle be worth my regrets? What if i wake up at 45 and tell myself: "i should have become a XXXX". On the other hand, what if i get call in on Christmas Eve, still at 45 and think to myself: "i should have stay in dental school, that's not worth it.."

I mean, i know i can't be sure but ughhh. Now that i'm here, i feel that med school actually was maybe my #1 choice since forever but i just tried to convince myself that dentistry had it better so it was a smarter choice for my future family. I'm only 22 so yeah, the thought on being on call and working awful hours in residency doesn't scare me that much yet but that could change as i get older.