Recent ugrad/software engineer considering MD/PhD

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dl697

Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm a recent Cornell grad, and am looking into applying to MD/PhD programs in 2-3 years. I graduated with a biology major and computer science minor (cGPA: 3.6). I've taken most of the premed requirements, including general bio and chemistry, orgo, biochem, genetics, and physics.

I did software engineering internships at Google during all three of my undergraduate summers, and will be starting work there as a software engineer in a couple weeks. I'm new to SDN, but was hoping to get some advice on how to increase my chances for acceptance into a program in the next couple years.

One of my main concerns is that I didn't get the chance to do research during my undergrad. I made several attempts to find research work under professors, but none were really successful. What are some ways to get involved in research after graduation? What are other things I should do in order to make my application more competitive?

Thanks in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

Hey I went to Cornell and I'm pretty confused right now. Were the thoughts of an MD/PhD and doing CS competing in your head? What's your motivation for the MD/PhD/where is that coming from? How many labs did you contact? It can take several 10s of labs until someone takes you. Did you go to the OUB for help? Were your Google summers research-focused or was it different?

Also why is your status medical student?

Reactions: 1 user
MD/PhD is just one of the options I had been considering. I've also been considering first pursuing Master's programs, post-bacc programs (PREP, IRTA?), research at independent institutions, but am just unsure of which path would be best to identify areas of research interest / boost my application for PhD or MD/PhD programs in the future.