Reapplying to medical school..

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

JVixen

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all,

Im just looking for advice on my current dilemma with attempting medical school again.

So here goes, I graduated with a BA in biology with a 3.4 GPA I think like a 3.5 science GPA in 2014. Took my MCAT in 2015 and did terrible...I got like a 500. I applied to schools anyways and I got two interviews and waitlisted at those two DO schools after.

At that time I was in a really unhealthy relationship and completely broke. Mentally I was burned out between the relationship and school work etc. Reapplying wasnt an option because of my financial situation too.

I decided the next best option for me to earn money and stay in healthcare was nursing school. So I did an accelerated program in nursing and got my BSN. I met my husband at this time and got married also. My financial situation is stable now too. I am currently 26 and working as a nurse in the ICU, but i know its not where I want to be.

I have tried to be okay with nursing but I know that I will never stay as a nurse without going further like doing NP or some other track but all these sound unappealing to me. I have stopped feeling challenged and I feel that my knowledge and interests stretch further than nursing. My husband is on board with whatever I choose to do, but I am wondering where do I start?

My ultimate goal would be to get into a MD school in NJ. Any advice?

Members don't see this ad.

Hello all,

Im just looking for advice on my current dilemma with attempting medical school again.

So here goes, I graduated with a BA in biology with a 3.4 GPA I think like a 3.5 science GPA in 2014. Took my MCAT in 2015 and did terrible...I got like a 500. I applied to schools anyways and I got two interviews and waitlisted at those two DO schools after.