Nursing student to MD/DO. Not sure what to do.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

evagria

Reaction score
Hi all!

Glad I found this website/forum because I was having no luck getting any constructive feedback anywhere else so I’m hoping the feedback is better here.

I am a 29 year old senior nursing student in an ADN program. I’ve always wanted to do medicine, even in high school but a string of bad decisions (aka abusive partners) led me down the path of least resistance and I chose nursing as a “happy medium” between nothing and medicine. I’ve been completing prereqs since 2017 and finally got into a nursing program. Now that I’ve left my former partner, I realize that I’m not happy where I am. Being a nurse is a tough job but I want to do more with my future career in the healthcare field and I want to become a doctor. However, my science grades are bad (currently a 2.8 with all of them together and is a 3.0 with just the very few med school prereqs of CHEM, BIO 1, and STAT) and my overall GPA is a 3.4.

I will graduate with my associates in May 2023 and I’ve read many mixed things about whether to do my BSN or do a bachelors in another field to better prep myself for the process of applying and being in medical school. I’ve also heard the route of post-bacc is a good option for those individuals who don’t have many science courses (I’ve only take bio 1, Chem 1, a&p 1+2, micro). I just feel lost and like time is running out because I’ll be 30 next year and don’t want to take any detours or longer routes to get where I need to go.

Many people have told me “why not NP school?” I know NPs are intelligent and very important but I’ve heard far too many horror stories from schooling(lack of resources, clinicals, coherent lessons and education) to actual practice to ever feel confident enough to be an NP and provide patient care.

So, anyone been in my situation?