Reapplicant advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Flywheel

Reaction score
Hello everyone. I'm new to SDN and this is my first post, so please let me know if I omitted important information. I'm a reapplicant looking for advice.

I decided to go into medicine during my junior year of college, so I did a postbac program at WUSTL (1 year) to take the remaining prereq courses. Undergrad GPA: 3.787. Postbac GPA: 4.00. MCAT: 518.

Clinical experience: 495 hours as a patient care tech (basically a CNA who also did phlebotomy, EKGs, and point-of-care testing), 2670 as an oncology research assistant (working directly with patients). I also got certified as an EMT, which I mentioned in my personal statement, but I didn't include it in my activities list because I never worked as an EMT.
Other employment: 715 hours as a campus tour guide during college
Research: 245 hours as a research assistant in college
Shadowing: 36 hours, mostly in emergency med
Volunteering: 137 hours (outpatient surgical center in college, then Head Start program during my postbac year, and currently volunteering at food bank)
Hobby: 3800 hours backpacking/camping/hiking (the high hours are because I started in 2011, when I was in high school)

I applied to 22 schools: U Florida, Baylor, Tulane, Emory, Vanderbilt, UNC, Wake Forest, UCLA, USC, U Virginia, Virginia Commonwealth, U Maryland, George Washington, Georgetown, Ohio State, U Cincinnati, U Colorado, Penn State, U Penn, Boston University, Tufts, Brown.
Received 1 interview (UNC), was waitlisted, and ultimately didn't get in.