Realistic Residency Options?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PieceOfGum1

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all,

Exceedingly mediocre medical student here at a low-tier MD school. I have no leadership, bare minimum extracurriculars (I just have the minimum volunteering requirements for our curriculum, nothing else), no research involvement at all, and worst of all, 2 FAILED preclinical classes. I failed one class M1 and then another M2 year, and remediated them both. I'm still graduating in 4 years.

I recently took Step 1 and Passed it, although I had to use extra time for it and had to sacrifice my Career Exploratory block to have more study time. I'm starting my first actual rotation soon.

So yeah, I'm possibly the worst med student in my class. I have made several improvements in how I studied over the years though, and my final few modules I did very well, finally exceeding even the class average. And I'm proud of myself for passing Step 1 on my first try.

Now, I will try my best for Rotations, but being realistic I will likely not be anything to special, that's just how I am. And I'm predicting my Step 2 to be average, although I will try my absolute best to it.

With today being Match Day and all, I'm just trying to think about my future prospects. My biggest interests have been: Anesthesiology, Neurology, PM&R, and Internal Medicine.