This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jsk26

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I just started studying for the DAT for the second time and have been having a tough time with the reading comp section. I have used the Kaplan BB section tests and done the all Bootcamp section tests (my score on the real test wasn't comparable). This section is really bringing my overall score down. Does anyone know any other good resources to help me out? I have noticed that the questions them selves are giving me the most problems. What would the best strategies to go about them?

Members don't see this ad.

the simplest method is reading the whole passage within 4-5 minutes and then doing the questions. while you read, don't read it like you are studying for a test. But skim it all quickly.
the other method is this :http://forums.studentdoctor.net/threads/my-rc-strategy-the-balanced-approach.1138782/
These 2 are of the most efficient methods IMO.

Thank you! Would you know of any strategies that help with the question aspect? That's been giving me an issue. Or would this be the same advice as that link?

Members don't see this ad :)
Thank you! Would you know of any strategies that help with the question aspect? That's been giving me an issue. Or would this be the same advice as that link?
yup, checkout the thread. the question is giving you problem because you may not have enough time to fully comprehend it (hence, reading comprehension). The questions are not intended to be very hard, the problem is that sometimes we spend too much time trying to understand the passage and run out of time on questions. That's the trick, same for other exams like MCAT etc. I too was somewhat struggling but I followed the link.

Most of the questions are straight forward and he answers are given right in the passage. It's all about how well you memorize where a topic was at, or how fast you are at looking at a question and skimming.