Re-enter EMS after time away

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

emtp6811

iLurk
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I was an EMT and Paramedic for 6 years before going back to college to complete the pre-med requirements. A little over a year in, I was still bright eyed and gung-ho, so I allowed all my certs to lapse including my state EMT-P and NREMT-P certs with the thought that I'd go straight from pre-med to med school. Now, I'm a year from graduating and I *need* a year off before matriculating. I'd like to work EMS again during that time, but I can't quite figure out what the NREMT stance is on re-testing after a lapse in certification. I assume at least a paramedic refresher course and ACLS, PALS, and ATLS at a minimum. Anybody know, or can point me in the right direction of a definitive answer?

Members don't see this ad.

http://www.nremt.org/nremt/about/reg_para_history.asp#Lapsed_Certification said:
Lapsed Certification

If your National EMS Certification lapsed as a Paramedic within a two year period or you are currently state licensed as a Paramedic, you can obtain National EMS Certification by completing a state-approved Refresher course and successfully completing the cognitive and psychomotor examinations. If your EMS certification expired more than two years ago, you must complete an entire state-approved Paramedic course and complete the cognitive and psychomotor examinations.

Hope this helps.

I can tell you once you are lasped most states will make you go back through the whole course if you are lasped more than a month or two. NREMT is also very strict on lasping so good luck but you are fighting a up hill battle..

Members don't see this ad :)