Quoted:Worst mistake of my life (honor code violation)

Doodledog

Escape artist
Moderator Emeritus
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a sophomore who has just completed his fall semester at ........ University. For my third exam in Introductory Biology, I had initially earned a grade of a 94. However, I made the mistake of adding 5 words to the end of the paragraph of one of the answers and submitting the test for a re-grade. I was caught in violation of the honor code. I had originally received 2 of the 4 possible points for the question, and the re-grade in which I tried to gain the rest of the 2 points ended up costing me the exam. As a result, I received no credit for the test and a C+ for my grade in the course, which would have otherwise been an A given my other test scores in the course if it were not for this incident. The pressures of trying to impress the medical school admissions board and the feeling that I had to get all A's in the pre-med courses drove me to do something that was completely illogical. In hopes of trying to bring myself closer to gaining admission into medical school, I actually deprived myself of such an opportunity. I know this incident will be of great detriment in securing my future in medicine. I feel terrible about what I did, and it is something I truly regret. I was completely engulfed by my grades and lost sight of my other values. However, despite the damage that this event may have on my path to medical school, I truly hope to continue this endeavor. Originally, I thought my dreams of going to medical school would be over and my future appeared like a blur. Nevertheless, through some self-reflection, I realized that I can not give up, and that I must pick myself up and continue to strive for what I hope to accomplish. My overall GPA for the first year was a 4.0 but after this semester it will likely drop to about a 3.90. I made a terrible mistake, and I hope that someone can provide me with some helpful advice. Any suggesti