Medical Is this a HIPAA violation and will it hurt my chances of acceptances?

Status
Not open for further replies.

NotAProgDirector

Pastafarians Unite!
Staff member
Volunteer Staff
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I worked as a scribe last year in a hospital before getting accepted into med school. My brother was admitted to the hospital and had imaging done. He later asked if I was able to print the documents for him so he can take it to his doctor and me being dumb did this for him. At the time, I really didn't think about HIPAA but now as a med student, this is something that makes me paranoid as I don't want it to bite me in the butt later. I haven't been approached by this yet but really fear that it could happen. Is there anything I can do now about the situation? Am I worrying too much about it? Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.
The good news is I don't think this is a HIPAA violation. HIPAA covers when record releases are allowed and disallowed. Patients are allowed to request their records. If you gave the records to your brother, it's not really a HIPAA issue. If you gave the records to some other physician office, then it might be.

The bad news is that this is a violation of your hospital's privacy / record access rules. You're not allowed to access anyone's record that you don't have a clinical reason for. Your brother had every right to get their records -- they just should have done so by contacting med records, not you.

If that's the case, the worst that can happen is you get fired. If you're not there any more, it no longer matters. If you're still at the same hospital (now as a medical student) then it's still a potential problem. I'd leave it alone -- unless someome complains, no one will ever notice. But now you know better.

Members don't see this ad.